Daly Lecture

The Daly Lecture honors the life and work of geologist Reginald Daly and is presented annually during the AGU Fall Meeting. The Daly Lecture is part of the Bowie Lecture series, which was inaugurated in 1989 to commemorate the 50th presentation of the William Bowie medal, AGU’s highest honor and named for its first president. Reginald Daly is a past recipient of the William Bowie medal. The Daly Lecturer is selected for exemplifying Reginald Daly’s work with outstanding contributions to volcanology, geochemistry, or petrology.

Deadline: every April 15 of the year of the award
Procedure: Submit nominations electronically here

The nomination file should include:

  1. Nomination letter explaining the rationale for recommending the candidate (a brief paragraph is acceptable).
  2. OPTIONAL: Nominee’s curriculum vitae
  3. OPTIONAL: Nominee’s selected bibliography
  4. OPTIONAL: Up to three additional letters of support – preferably on letterhead

Selection is by the VGP section President.

Previous Daly Lecturers

  • 2014 Jane Selverstone
  • 2013  Dante Canil
  • 2012  Jay Ague
  • 2011  Colin Wilson
  • 2010  Dominique Weiss
  • 2009  Mark Harrison
  • 2008  Alex Halliday
  • 2007  Tim Grove
  • 2006  Roberta Rudnick
  • 2005  Calvin Miller
  • 2004  Michael Manga
  • 2003  Claude Jaupart
  • 2002  C J Hawkesworth
  • 2001  Bernard Wood
  • 2000  Bruce Marsh
  • 1999  Bruce Watson
  • 1998  Charlie Langmuir
  • 1997  Steve Haggerty
  • 1996  Wally Broeker
  • 1995  Stan Hart
  • 1994  Ed Stolper
  • 1993  Dave Walker

Link to AGU page on the biography of Reginald Daly