AGU Fellowship

Established in 1962, the Fellows program recognizes AGU members who have made exceptional contributions to Earth and space sciences as valued by their peers and vetted by a committee of Fellows. Primary criteria for evaluation in scientific eminence are: (1) major breakthrough, (2) major discovery, (3) paradigm shift, and (4) sustained impact. This designation is conferred upon not more than 0.1% of all AGU members in any given year. Section Fellows committees provide rankings and recommendations of eligible nominations to the Union Fellows Selection Committee, who make the final decision.

Deadline: every March 15 of the year of the award
Procedure: Submit nominations electronically here

Nomination criteria and requirements are here

VGP Fellows Committee

Search for current and past AGU Fellows

Previous VGP-AGU Fellows

2017 VGP-AGU Fellows
  • Marc Chaussidon
  • Matthew J. Kohny
  • Klaus Mezger
  • Robert J. Stern
  • Youxue Zhang

2017 AGU Fellows, co-sponsored by VGP

  • Paul J. Tackley
  • Jeffrey Alt
  • Hai Cheng